The independent resource on global security

Humanitarian Protection in the Liptako-Gourma Region: Local Protection Mechanisms and Humanitarian Response—Field Survey Conducted in the Liptako-Gourma Region (June–July 2021)

Final report June 2022 cover
Dr Virginie Baudais, Dr Shourjya Deb, Frédéric Baele, Prof. Tiéman Diarra, Dr Oumarou Hamani and Dr Thomas Ouédraogo
Publisher: SIPRI
SIPRI, Stockholm:
June, 2023

Located at the borders of Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger, the Liptako-Gourma region is the new epicentre of the Sahara–Sahel crisis that broke out in 2012. As part of the research programme ‘Humanitarian Protection in the Liptako-Gourma region’, this is the second of two reports seeking to understand the impact of humanitarian protection programmes implemented in the Liptako-Gourma region and examines the links between local protection and humanitarian protection mechanisms as well as offering an overview on the threats, risks and vulnerabilities affecting the local populations. Strengthening the effectiveness of protection programmes requires a clear understanding of the issues, grounded on quantitative and qualitative data collected from a representative sample of populations in Burkina Faso (Nord region), Mali (Mopti region) and Niger (Tillabéri region) in June and July 2021.


The report is available in French and translated into English.


I. Introduction

II. General context of the research: Humanitarian protection in the Liptako-Gourma region

III. Identification of threats, risks and vulnerabilities

IV. Local mechanisms and humanitarian protection responses 



Dr Virginie Baudais is a Senior Researcher and Director of SIPRI’s Sahel and West Africa Programme.
Dr Shourjya Deb is a Researcher in the SIPRI Sahel and West Africa Programme.
Frédéric Baele is Head of Programmes, West Africa region, Danish Refugee Council.
Prof. Tiéman Diarra is Co-Director, Point Sud, Mali.
Dr Oumarou Hamani is Scientific Director, LASDEL, Niger.
Dr Thomas Ouédraogo is Executive Director, Centre pour la Gourvernance Démocratique, Burkina Faso.